Random Talk: A Thankful Moment

July 7, 2008 at 2:22 pm (Blogroll)

It’s Monday and I am usually quite useless on Mondays because my brain is recuperating from the weekend, at least till 6pm-ish. And although my brain cells are working with probably the generator (not even sure if I have one) I started to reflect a lot. Maybe because there is low productivity in the brain it’s allowing space for my reflective thoughts. It’s not even relevant. Whatever. Anyways…

I remember telling myself after New Years, that instead of just focusing on the many things I don’t like about living deep within the disorganized, discombobulated masses in Korea (you can’t see it on the surface but it’s there) I should make things happen for myself. It took a little time but I started to, Uber Rad Life in Seoul, Mud fest, other events, taking a chance on people and I am amazed at all the great moments that has come from it and all the new cool and interesting people I have met. I have met so many interesting people, some has become my kindred spirit and a friendship has budded, and I think Marilyn Monroe’s quote which I discovered through bumper sticker application ( I love this app), is befitting for 2008 now:

“I believe that everything happens for a reason, people change so that you can let go. Things go wrong so that you appreciate them when they are right. You believe in lies so you eventually learn to trust no one but yourself, and sometimes good things fall part so better things fall together.”

So this morning, I actually felt free from the crap that oozed from 2007 into 2008, infecting the newness of 2008, the beginning part that is. It was excruciatingly hard trying to rise above some of the events that occurred this year, but it was worth it because the thankfulness I felt from the moment I woke up today and right to this moment is incredible.

It makes sense, if you know what crap feels like, when good happens you just can’t help but embellish in the moment because it feels so good, it gives you your juice to keep moving during the low days.

Usually Mondays makes me feel abhorrent but today, not so much so that is something else to be thankful about also.

Cool. 🙂

Leave a Reply

