Relationship Talk: Saying Goodbye

June 20, 2008 at 7:33 am (Blogroll)

Just as amazing and intense falling in love is, it’s just as painful and intense when saying goodbye. It doesn’t matter if you know the person did you wrong or is not right for you, saying good bye is always double the intensity of the amount of love you felt originally.

When I was growing up, I thought you only loved once but reflecting on the relationships I have been through, I can’t say that the love I felt during each serious relationship I had that didn’t work was a facade. It was easier to say it must not have been love to ease the excruciating pain of a break up but then I am not being honest with myself. And if I want to evolve I need to be honest with myself.

There was a point in my life where I was so jaded that it was easier to not believe that true love existed but as I am living my life I realized this. I realized that when you do fall in love and it doesn’t work out, it doesn’t mean what you had wasn’t love, it was but it wasn’t the one. I think each time we fall in love and if it doesn’t work out it’s the Universe’s way of providing us a learning experience so we are one step closer to knowing what we need and want so when the day comes you will be able to see the person you are meant to spend the rest of your life with, like trial and error to get it right which makes sense if you think about it. Every skill we learn, every progress we make, it is accomplished through trial and error. No body gets it right the first time or sometimes even the 50th time. Each relationship that did not work out in the end, if you look at the big picture rather than focusing on the negative and stewing in it, at some point you will see what you need to learn which in turn gives you a better idea of what you want and need whether it is of a partner or for your self.

This is the first time in my life that I am able to think like this and although the pain is still there I don’t feel as negative which is what I usually feel after a break up.

Sometimes it is hard to see with all the painful emotions fogging up your vision, but if you remain still and keep in mind your objective which is to evolve into a better person at the end of the day, the epiphany will hit and when it does you will be able to say goodbye with a warm heart and move on.

1 Comment

  1. Shiraz said,

    What is progress? What we gain in life is understanding.

    Life is made of many little moments. A lot of the times, we don’t truly understand those moments until they’ve already happened. The same goes for love.

    Every new day is a new beginning filled with opportunity.

Leave a Reply

